And so we begin … Apple and Cinnamon Cake

20 Nov

In British Columbia we are blessed with a wonderful bounty of fresh foods including fruits all around.   This is why I found myself with a twenty bag of apples that were hand-picked by my beautiful daughters from a ‘pick-you-own’ farm called The Apple Barn in Abbotsford which is about an hour and a half drive from our home in West Vancouver.  As an aside, this is a great place to take the kids for an all-around autumnal experience with not just the apple-picking but also a pumpkin patch, corn maze, and all the fixins you’d ever need.

But back to the apples – there were too many of them as it’s very easy to get carried away when you’re just picking them off the trees in front of you.  So I had already made three apple pies, a couple of jars of apple butter and an apple crisp and so I turned to Mary Berry for a new idea.  The Apple and Cinnamon Cake.

So before I began, I already had a problem.  What on earth is muscovado sugar??? Well according to google, muscovado sugar is very dark brown and slightly coarser and stickier than most brown sugars.  And I couldn’t find it anywhere near me in Vancouver (if by chance you know where to get it please let me know).  So I had to start my experiment by changing the recipe.  Mary please forgive me!  Muscovado became dark brown and I could continue.

I then cheated again by softening my butter in the microwave which has always worked perfectly for me.   I added the butter, sugar, eggs, chopped walnuts, sultanas, flour and baking powder in a bowl and beat until blended.

I have this handy little apple peeler, corer, slicer that made taking care of the apples very easy.

Then I used an attachment on my food processor I hadn’t used before  to grate the apples – it worked better than I had imagined and it saved me loads of time.

Then half of the mixture went into the lined pan followed by all of the apples.

Followed by the remaining mixture, levelled off with a plastic spatula and sprinkled with the sugar and additional walnuts if desired.  And then into the oven until “golden brown”.

The kids turned their noses up at this cake although they said the kitchen smelled good.  Hubby loved it though saying that it was “crunchy on the outside and light and fluffy on the inside”.  Good enough for me 🙂

1 recipe down.  211 to go.

One Response to “And so we begin … Apple and Cinnamon Cake”

  1. Sarah October 22, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

    Muscavado sugar is unrefined cane sugar. It is available (in the UK at least) in light and dark varieties. I think soft brown sugar is a good alternative :).

    You’re cake looks amazing! Mine is in the oven 😮 x

Leave a Reply

