And then there was … My Mother’s Bread and Butter Pudding

28 Nov

People who know me well will tell you that I will be torn at a restaurant if handed a dessert menu with both Creme Brulee and Bread and Butter Pudding listed on it.  I haven’t been brave enough to try to make a Creme Brulee at home but I have tried various recipes for the Bread and Butter Pudding.  So knowing that there was a recipe in Mary Berry’s book it had to be one of the first I tried.

Now let’s be honest, there’s not exactly a high level of difficulty to this one so we can plough through it quite quickly.  Take your bread (preferably day old 50% off at the supermarket!), cut off the crusts (which the hubby nabbed to use in our Christmas Day dinner homemade stuffing)  and cut into thirds, or halves if you have a small sandwich loaf like I did.

The first thing we need to sort out is the “caster sugar” issue – we don’t have it in Canada that I can find.  According to the nice people on the interwebs “Berry Sugar” is equivalent so that’s what I used.  Then I melted my butter as required so I could dip my pieces of bread in it and lay it on the bottom of my dish.  Then I sprinkled over the dried fruit mixture (fruit, lemon rind, sugar and mixed spice) and repeated just varying which way the melted butter on the bread is placed.

The eggs and milk are beat together, poured over the layered bread and then demerara sugar (or brown in  my case) is sprinkled over the top.  Put it in the oven and 40 minutes later … voila!  Or not.

It was quiet disappointing to hear the hubby say that he preferred the last version I made.  Not so much because he didn’t like Mary’s version, but more because I can’t remember where on earth I found that last recipe!

PS Forgive the photography this week – that’s what happens when you bake at night in an old house.

2 Recipes down.  210 to go.

Leave a Reply

